Seminar Event

Results for Student Geometry/Topology events from 2017-07-01 to 2018-06-30
Future or past events may be found by using the Search tab above.



Seminar List

pdf version

Date Speaker Seminar Title
Tuesday, September 05, 2017
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 1866 East Hall *

Student Geometry/Topology Planning meeting

Tuesday, September 12, 2017
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 1866 East Hall *
Jasmine Powell
University of Michigan
Student Geometry/Topology Complex dynamics and the shift locus

Tuesday, September 19, 2017
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 1866 East Hall *
Feng Zhu
University of Michigan
Student Geometry/Topology What are (and why) Anosov representations?

Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 1866 East Hall *
Salman Siddiqi
University of Michigan
Student Geometry/Topology The structure and dynamics of the geodesic flow

Tuesday, October 03, 2017
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 1866 East Hall *
Gilyoung Cheong
University of Michigan
Student Geometry/Topology Computing Euler characteristic of configuration space of points, using zeta functions

Tuesday, October 10, 2017
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 1866 East Hall *
Maxime Scott
Indiana University
Student Geometry/Topology Teichmueller theorems and generalizations

Tuesday, October 24, 2017
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 1866 East Hall *
Montek Gill
University of Michigan
Student Geometry/Topology Stable homotopy theory: spectra, generalized cohomology theories and higher algebraic structures

Tuesday, October 31, 2017
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 1866 East Hall *
Patrick Haggerty
Indiana University
Student Geometry/Topology Mapping class groups and curve complexes

Tuesday, November 07, 2017
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 1866 East Hall *
John Kilgore
University of Michigan
Student Geometry/Topology Weyl's law for singular projective algebraic varieties

Tuesday, November 14, 2017
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 1866 East Hall *
Patrick Haggerty
Indiana University
Student Geometry/Topology The Symplectic Representation of Mapping Class Groups

Tuesday, November 21, 2017
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 1866 East Hall *
Bradley Zykoski
University of Michigan
Student Geometry/Topology An Introduction to Khovanov Homology

Tuesday, November 28, 2017
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 1866 East Hall *
Daniel Irvine
University of Michigan
Student Geometry/Topology From Symplectic to Contact Geometry

Tuesday, December 05, 2017
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 1866 East Hall *
Nicholas Wawrykow
University of Michigan
Student Geometry/Topology The Boundary of the Complex of Curves and Train Tracks

Tuesday, December 12, 2017
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 1866 East Hall *
Didac Martinez-Granado
Indiana University
Student Geometry/Topology The Weil-Petersson metric

Tuesday, January 09, 2018
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 3866 East Hall

Student Geometry/Topology Organizational meeting

Tuesday, January 16, 2018
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 3866 East Hall
Daniel Irvine
University of Michigan
Student Geometry/Topology Symplectic Embedding Problems

Tuesday, January 23, 2018
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 3866 East Hall
Bradley Zykoski
University of Michigan
Student Geometry/Topology TQFTs in Context

Tuesday, January 30, 2018
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 3866 East Hall
Jasmine Powell
University of Michigan
Student Geometry/Topology Similarities between Julia sets and the Mandelbrot set

Tuesday, February 06, 2018
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 3866 East Hall
Mark Greenfield
University of Michigan
Student Geometry/Topology An introduction to symmetric spaces

Tuesday, February 13, 2018
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 3866 East Hall
Kostas Tsouvalas
University of Michigan
Student Geometry/Topology Anosov representations: the dynamical definition and main properties

Tuesday, February 20, 2018
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 3866 East Hall
Salman Siddiqi
University of Michigan
Student Geometry/Topology Unipotent flows on homogeneous spaces

Tuesday, March 06, 2018
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 3866 East Hall
Montek Gill
University of Michigan
Student Geometry/Topology Waldhausen's algebraic K-theory of spaces

Tuesday, March 13, 2018
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 3866 East Hall
Didac Martinez-Granado
Indiana University
Student Geometry/Topology The intersection number of geodesic currents

Tuesday, March 20, 2018
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 3866 East Hall

Student Geometry/Topology No talk this week

Tuesday, March 27, 2018
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 3866 East Hall
Nicholas Wawrykow
University of Michigan
Student Geometry/Topology Outer Space

Tuesday, April 03, 2018
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 3866 East Hall
Samantha Pinella
University of Michigan
Student Geometry/Topology Interval Exchange Transformations

Tuesday, April 10, 2018
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 3866 East Hall

Student Geometry/Topology Replaced by RTG Lecture series this week

Tuesday, April 17, 2018
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 3866 East Hall
Feng Zhu
University of Michigan
Student Geometry/Topology Non-positive curvature in groups

Seminar List

 

* non-standard time or location

To receive seminar email notifications of join the math-seminars email group.

Seminar coordinators may add/edit events (login required).
For access requests and instructions, contact math-webmaster@umich.edu

Back to previous page
Back to UM Math seminars/events page

For website problems, contact Math Webmaster